| 400 mg for 3 months, then 800 mg from week 13 | Human | human | Not reported | 24 weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 100 | Tharoor 2023 |
| 800 mg/day in 2 divided doses | Human | human | Not reported | 10 weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 70 | Hajizadeh-Zaker 2018 |
| 2 g/day | Human | human | oral | 12 weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 40 | Siriwattanasit 2021 |
| 2 g daily | Human | human | Not reported | 14 weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 43 | Hariharan 2024 |
| 2 g/day | Human | human | Not reported | 14 weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 43 | Saadati 2024 |
| 2 g daily | Human | human | Not reported | 14 weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 42 | Hariharan 2025 |
| 2 g/day | Human | human | Not reported | 14 weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 41 | Saadati 2024 |
| 2g daily | Human | human | oral | approximately 6wk | Randomized trial in people | O'Toole 2025 |
| 2 g per day | Human | human | Not reported | Not reported | Randomized trial in people · n = 299 | O'Toole 2026 |
| 1 g/day | Human | human | oral | 12 weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 90 | Elbarbary 2018 |
| 2 g/day | Human | human | Not reported | 3 months | Randomized trial in people · n = 75 | Chengappa 2012 |
| 2 gr/day in two divided doses | Human | human | Not reported | eight weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 60 | Ghajar 2018 |
| 2 capsules, 500 mg each | Human | human | Not reported | 12 weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 54 | Houjeghani 2018 |
| 400 mg twice daily | Human | human | Not reported | six weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 52 | Araminia 2020 |
| 800 mg/d in two divided doses | Human | human | Not reported | 8 weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 50 | Ghajar 2018 |
| 2 g/day | Human | human | Not reported | 14 weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 49 | Saadati 2023 |
| 500 mg/day | Human | human | Not reported | 2 months | Randomized trial in people · n = 43 | Mehrazad-Saber 2018 |
| 500 mg daily | Human | human | Not reported | two months | Randomized trial in people · n = 36 | Ghodsi 2019 |
| 2 g daily | Human | human | Not reported | 12 weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 30 | de 2016 |
| 1 g twice daily | Human | human | Not reported | 12 weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 26 | Baye 2019 |
| 500, 1000, and 1500 mg increasing at 4 week intervals | Human | human | Not reported | 12 weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 25 | Baraniuk 2013 |
| 2 g | Human | human | Not reported | 12 weeks | Randomized trial in people · n = 22 | Baye 2018 |
| 2 g/day | Human | human | oral | 6 or 12 weeks | Randomized trial in people | Baba 2024 |
| 60 mg/kg body wt | Human | human | oral | Not reported | Trial in people without random groups · n = 25 | Everaert 2012 |
| 20 mg/kg body wt | Human | human | Not reported | Not reported | Trial in people without random groups · n = 12 | Baguet 2014 |
| 2 g/day | Human | human | Not reported | 12 weeks | Trial in people without random groups · n = 12 | Schön 2023 |
| 25 mg/kg | Human | human | oral | Not reported | Trial in people without random groups · n = 5 | Blancquaert 2021 |
| 5 g twice daily | Human | human | oral | 4 weeks | Trial in people without random groups · n = 4 | Ali 2025 |
| 800 mg daily | Human | human | Not reported | 8 weeks | Trial in people without random groups | Chez 2002 |
| 2 g/day | Human | human | oral | twelve weeks | Trial in people without random groups | Regazzoni 2016 |
| up to 10 g | Human | human | oral | Not reported | Trial in people without random groups | Ali 2025 |
| 15 g | Human | human | oral | Not reported | Trial in people without random groups | Ali 2025 |
| 2 g/day | Human | human | oral | 8 weeks | Reports of single patients · n = 3 | Zanini 2020 |
| 2 g/day | Human | human | oral | 8 weeks | Reports of single patients · n = 3 | Ostojic 2020 |
| 500 mg/kg diet | Animal | chicken | dietary | d 1 to d 35 | Study in live animals · n = 1,080 | Askri 2025 |
| 25, 50 or 100 mg carnosine per kg diet | Animal | pig | oral | 8 weeks | Study in live animals · n = 72 | Ma 2010 |
| 400 mg/kg diet | Animal | sheep | dietary | 60 days | Study in live animals · n = 60 | Meng 2024 |
| 50 mg/kg | Animal | rat | intraperitoneal | Not reported | Study in live animals · n = 30 | Iyiol 2026 |
| 1 mg/kg/day | Animal | rat | Not reported | Not reported | Study in live animals · n = 20 | Ozel 2010 |
| 50 mumol/min | Animal | dog | infusion | Not reported | Study in live animals · n = 19 | Cianciaruso 1985 |