Semaglutide Effects on Heart Disease and Stroke in Patients With Overweight or Obesity
Novo Nordisk A/S17,604 participants24 Oct 2018 to 29 Jun 2023
Overweight · Obesity
Semaglutide acts on the GLP-1 receptor, and tirzepatide acts on both the GIP and GLP-1 receptors. Both are approved in the US and EU for type 2 diabetes and weight management, and both have large trial programs in people. This page compares their study results.
Comparing 2 peptides · Data version 308560
Swipe sideways to see every peptide.
| Peptide | Synthetic analog Semaglutide | Synthetic analog Tirzepatide |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Kind | Synthetic analog | Synthetic analog |
| Area | Weight and metabolic | Weight and metabolic |
| Evidence | ||
| Amount of evidence | 4,624 | 2,165 |
| Evidence level | Has results from studies in people | Has results from studies in people |
| Safety | ||
| Safety results | 1,224 (1,221 in people) | 462 (462 in people) |
| Status | ||
| Approval | ||
| Sport (WADA) | ||
| Registered trials | 663 · 284 active124 more mention it but do not test it | 254 · 162 active47 more mention it but do not test it |
Shared outcomes
From the regulatory data of each peptide.
The FDA label for Ozempic says: “Adjunct to diet and exercise for glycemic control in adults with type 2 diabetes; reduce the risk of major adverse cardiovascular events in adults with type 2 diabetes and established cardiovascular disease; reduce the risk of sustained eGFR decline…”
The FDA label for Mounjaro says: “Adjunct to diet and exercise for glycemic control in adults and pediatric patients 10 years and older with type 2 diabetes; reduce the risk of major adverse cardiovascular events in adults with type 2 diabetes at high risk for these events”
Outcome groups with study results for at least two of these peptides. Counts include only results from studies that gave the peptide. Bar length is the number of results, on one scale. The bars show how much was studied, not how large an effect was. A peptide with more studies can look stronger here without being stronger. For results, see the randomized results above.
| Outcome group | Semaglutide | Tirzepatide |
|---|---|---|
| Body weightMetabolic and weight | 969954105 | 521501182 |
| Glycemic controlMetabolic and weight | 66866512 | 36435581 |
| Adverse eventsWhole body | 7757723 | 213213 |
| Gastrointestinal adverse eventsGastrointestinal | 345345 | 179179 |
| Cardiovascular eventsWhole body | 2672634 | 1551523 |
| Liver fat and liver functionMusculoskeletal | 17917441 | 5353 |
| LipidsMetabolic and weight | 1181171 | 79763 |
| Kidney functionKidney and urinary | 1361351 | 40391 |
| MortalityWhole body | 1041031 | 635724 |
| Blood pressureEndocrine and hormones | 9999 | 5151 |
| Appetite and food intakeNervous system and cognition | 97952 | 20191 |
| Heart functionCardiovascular | 67616 | 49427 |
PepBank is a research reference. Talk to a doctor before you use any peptide.
For each outcome that two or more peptides have results for: the best result of a single randomized trial, on the same measure (the same kind of number, the same unit). When a trial has several dose arms, the cell shows the highest dose arm. The trials differ in people, length and dose, so a gap between two cells is not proof that one peptide works better.
| Outcome | Semaglutide | Tirzepatide |
|---|---|---|
| Cardiovascular eventsCardiovascularCompared as: value in the arm that got the peptide, in % | 12% Event rate Placebo: 13.8% Dose studied: maximal dose 14 mg once dailyn = 9,6502025 | 23.7% event rate Dose studied: up to 15 mg weeklymedian 46.9 monthsn = 13,1652026 |
| Body weightMetabolic and weightCompared as: difference from placebo, in % | −2.54% Body weight change at 13 weeks Dose studied: maximum 14 mg once dailyn = 9,6502026 | −19.4% Difference Dose studied: maximum tolerated dose (10 or 15 mg)52 weeksn = 6702024 |
| Glycemic controlMetabolic and weightCompared as: value in the arm that got the peptide, in % | 1.5 to 1.9% HbA1c change · semaglutide 1.0 mg, non-elderly Dose studied: 0.5 or 1.0 mg once weeklyn = 3,0452018 | −2.3% HbA1c change · tirzepatide 5 mg Dose studied: 5 mg104 weeksn = 1,5002025 |
| Blood pressureCardiovascularCompared as: difference from placebo, in mm hg | −3.9 mm Hg Systolic blood pressure difference Dose studied: 2.4 mg once weekly48 weeksn = 8032021 | −6.8 mm Hg Net systolic blood pressure reduction · Shown as a change. The study reports a net systolic blood pressure reduction of this size. 72 weeksn not reported2024 |
| Quality of lifeWhole bodyCompared as: value in the arm that got the peptide, in points | 7.3 points Score change · semaglutide 7 mg Dose studied: 7 mg daily52 weeksn not reported2021 | 5.45 points General Health score change Dose studied: maximum tolerated dose72 weeksn not reported2026 |
| Adverse eventsWhole bodyCompared as: value in the arm that got the peptide, in % | 16.6% discontinuation due to adverse events Placebo: 8.2% Dose studied: 2.4 mg once weeklyn = 17,6042023 | 6.3% discontinuation due to adverse events Placebo: 1.4% Dose studied: up to 15 mg once weeklyat least 52 weeksn = 7312025 |
| Gastrointestinal adverse eventsGastrointestinalCompared as: value in the arm that got the peptide, in % | 99.5% Non-serious GI AEs Dose studied: 2.4 mg once weekly68 weeksn = 2,1172022 | 42.5% GI adverse events Dose studied: up to 15 mg weeklymedian 46.9 monthsn = 13,1652026 |
12%
Event rate
Placebo: 13.8%
Dose studied: maximal dose 14 mg once dailyn = 9,6502025
23.7%
event rate
Dose studied: up to 15 mg weeklymedian 46.9 monthsn = 13,1652026
−2.54%
Body weight change at 13 weeks
Dose studied: maximum 14 mg once dailyn = 9,6502026
−19.4%
Difference
Dose studied: maximum tolerated dose (10 or 15 mg)52 weeksn = 6702024
1.5 to 1.9%
HbA1c change · semaglutide 1.0 mg, non-elderly
Dose studied: 0.5 or 1.0 mg once weeklyn = 3,0452018
−2.3%
HbA1c change · tirzepatide 5 mg
Dose studied: 5 mg104 weeksn = 1,5002025
−3.9 mm Hg
Systolic blood pressure difference
Dose studied: 2.4 mg once weekly48 weeksn = 8032021
−6.8 mm Hg
Net systolic blood pressure reduction · Shown as a change. The study reports a net systolic blood pressure reduction of this size.
72 weeksn not reported2024
7.3 points
Score change · semaglutide 7 mg
Dose studied: 7 mg daily52 weeksn not reported2021
5.45 points
General Health score change
Dose studied: maximum tolerated dose72 weeksn not reported2026
16.6%
discontinuation due to adverse events
Placebo: 8.2%
Dose studied: 2.4 mg once weeklyn = 17,6042023
6.3%
discontinuation due to adverse events
Placebo: 1.4%
Dose studied: up to 15 mg once weeklyat least 52 weeksn = 7312025
99.5%
Non-serious GI AEs
Dose studied: 2.4 mg once weekly68 weeksn = 2,1172022
42.5%
GI adverse events
Dose studied: up to 15 mg weeklymedian 46.9 monthsn = 13,1652026
The other peptides have no randomized result on the same measure, so these results cannot be set side by side.
| Outcome | Semaglutide | Tirzepatide |
|---|---|---|
| Inflammation markersImmune and inflammationCompared as: difference from placebo, in % | −18.08% hsCRP change at 13 weeks Dose studied: maximum 14 mg once dailyn = 9,6502026 | No comparable result 22 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit. |
| LipidsCardiovascularCompared as: difference from placebo, in % | −7% Total cholesterol change at 13 weeks Dose studied: maximum 14 mg once dailyn = 9,6502026 | No comparable result 31 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit. |
| Cardiometabolic risk factorsMetabolic and weightCompared as: value in the arm that got the peptide, in % | −61.1% Relative risk score change Placebo: −12.9% Dose studied: 2.4 mg68 weeksn = 1,5832023 | No comparable result 20 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit. |
| Liver fat and liver functionLiverCompared as: difference from placebo, in percentage points | 28.7 percentage points Estimated difference Dose studied: 2.4 mg once weekly72 weeks (interim analysis; planned 240 weeks)n = 8002025 | No comparable result 15 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit. |
| Heart functionCardiovascularCompared as: difference from placebo, in points | No comparable result 40 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit. | 6.9 points between-group difference Dose studied: up to 15 mg once weeklyat least 52 weeksn = 7312025 |
−18.08%
hsCRP change at 13 weeks
Dose studied: maximum 14 mg once dailyn = 9,6502026
No comparable result
22 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit.
−7%
Total cholesterol change at 13 weeks
Dose studied: maximum 14 mg once dailyn = 9,6502026
No comparable result
31 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit.
−61.1%
Relative risk score change
Placebo: −12.9%
Dose studied: 2.4 mg68 weeksn = 1,5832023
No comparable result
20 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit.
28.7 percentage points
Estimated difference
Dose studied: 2.4 mg once weekly72 weeks (interim analysis; planned 240 weeks)n = 8002025
No comparable result
15 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit.
No comparable result
40 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit.
6.9 points
between-group difference
Dose studied: up to 15 mg once weeklyat least 52 weeksn = 7312025
Each analog against its native parent, residue by residue. Substitutions, non-standard residues and modifications are marked. Calculated from the two sequences.
Semaglutide differs from Glucagon-like peptide 1 (7-37) at 2 positions and carries 1 added group.
What is different
Tirzepatide differs from Gastric inhibitory polypeptide (GIP) at 11 positions and in 1 end segment.
What is different
Registered trials, ranked by phase (late phases first), then posted results and enrollment. Status is the registry status. Study results come from published studies. Results posted at ClinicalTrials.gov are shown on each trial page.
Top 3 of 663 trials, ranked by phase, then posted results and enrollment: 3 completed · 3 with posted results · source ClinicalTrials.gov (opens in a new tab)
Novo Nordisk A/S17,604 participants24 Oct 2018 to 29 Jun 2023
Overweight · Obesity
Novo Nordisk A/S9,651 participants17 Jun 2019 to 23 Aug 2024
Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2
Novo Nordisk A/S3,533 participants17 Jun 2019 to 9 Jan 2024
Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2
124 more mention it but do not test it. They only measure it or name it in their text.
Top 3 of 254 trials, ranked by phase, then posted results and enrollment: 3 completed · 3 with posted results · source ClinicalTrials.gov (opens in a new tab)
Eli Lilly and Company13,299 participants29 May 2020 to 12 Jun 2025
Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Eli Lilly and Company2,539 participants4 Dec 2019 to 6 Jul 2024
Overweight · Obesity
Eli Lilly and Company2,002 participants20 Nov 2018 to 22 Apr 2021
Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
47 more mention it but do not test it. They only measure it or name it in their text.
In PepBank now:147 peptides, 6 blends and 13 other compounds97,577 study results from 17,383 studies8,473 clinical trialsUpdated