Semaglutide Effects on Heart Disease and Stroke in Patients With Overweight or Obesity
Novo Nordisk A/S17,604 participants24 Oct 2018 to 29 Jun 2023
Overweight · Obesity
Semaglutide and dulaglutide are both GLP-1 receptor agonists approved in the US and EU for type 2 diabetes. Semaglutide (Ozempic, Wegovy) is also approved for weight management and comes as a tablet, while dulaglutide (Trulicity) is fused to an antibody fragment. This page compares their study results.
Comparing 2 peptides · Data version 308560
Swipe sideways to see every peptide.
| Peptide | Synthetic analog Semaglutide | Conjugate Dulaglutide (Trulicity) |
|---|---|---|
| Identity | ||
| Kind | Synthetic analog | Conjugate |
| Area | Weight and metabolic | Weight and metabolic |
| Evidence | ||
| Amount of evidence | 4,624 | 1,919 |
| Evidence level | Has results from studies in people | Has results from studies in people |
| Safety | ||
| Safety results | 1,224 (1,221 in people) | 488 (445 in people) |
| Status | ||
| Approval | ||
| Sport (WADA) | ||
| Registered trials | 663 · 284 active124 more mention it but do not test it | 124 · 15 active19 more mention it but do not test it |
Shared outcomes
From the regulatory data of each peptide.
The FDA label for Ozempic says: “Adjunct to diet and exercise for glycemic control in adults with type 2 diabetes; reduce the risk of major adverse cardiovascular events in adults with type 2 diabetes and established cardiovascular disease; reduce the risk of sustained eGFR decline…”
The FDA label for Trulicity says: “A GLP-1 analog fused to an IgG4 Fc region, approved for type 2 diabetes and specified cardiovascular risk reduction”
Outcome groups with study results for at least two of these peptides. Counts include only results from studies that gave the peptide. Bar length is the number of results, on one scale. The bars show how much was studied, not how large an effect was. A peptide with more studies can look stronger here without being stronger. For results, see the randomized results above.
| Outcome group | Semaglutide | Dulaglutide (Trulicity) |
|---|---|---|
| Glycemic controlMetabolic and weight | 66866512 | 564537261 |
| Body weightMetabolic and weight | 969954105 | 1781726 |
| Adverse eventsWhole body | 7757723 | 27823543 |
| Gastrointestinal adverse eventsGastrointestinal | 345345 | 179179 |
| Cardiovascular eventsWhole body | 2672634 | 4040 |
| Liver fat and liver functionMusculoskeletal | 17917441 | 20191 |
| Kidney functionKidney and urinary | 1361351 | 63567 |
| LipidsMetabolic and weight | 1181171 | 37352 |
| PharmacokineticsPharmacology | 93894 | 44404 |
| MortalityWhole body | 1041031 | 2323 |
| Blood pressureEndocrine and hormones | 9999 | 14131 |
| Appetite and food intakeNervous system and cognition | 97952 | 15141 |
PepBank is a research reference. Talk to a doctor before you use any peptide.
For each outcome that two or more peptides have results for: the best result of a single randomized trial, on the same measure (the same kind of number, the same unit). When a trial has several dose arms, the cell shows the highest dose arm. The trials differ in people, length and dose, so a gap between two cells is not proof that one peptide works better.
| Outcome | Semaglutide | Dulaglutide (Trulicity) |
|---|---|---|
| Kidney functionKidney and urinaryCompared as: share of people in the arm that got the peptide, in % | 1.8% Incidence Placebo: 2.2% Dose studied: 2.4 mg once weeklyn = 17,6042024 | 7.6% proportion with primary composite kidney outcome, dulaglutide · dulaglutide 1·5 mg, overall population Dose studied: 1·5 mg weeklyn = 13,1652026 |
| Cardiovascular eventsCardiovascularCompared as: value in the arm that got the peptide, in % | 6.5% primary end-point event rate Placebo: 8% Dose studied: 2.4 mg once weeklyn = 17,6042023 | 12% Primary outcome Placebo: 13.4% Dose studied: 1.5 mg weeklyMedian follow-up 5.4 yearsn = 9,9012019 |
| Body weightMetabolic and weightCompared as: difference from placebo, in kg | −9.1 kg Total body weight change Dose studied: 2.4 mg/wk24 weeksn = 1012026 | −2.9 kg Baseline-adjusted difference in weight change Dose studied: 1.5 mg once weekly12 weeksn = 2552023 |
| Glycemic controlMetabolic and weightCompared as: difference from placebo, in % | −1.6 to −0.4% Estimated treatment difference Dose studied: 2.5-40 mg once daily26 weeksn not reported2017 | −1% HbA1c change difference Dose studied: 1.5 mg once weekly28 weeksn = 2912023 |
| Quality of lifeWhole bodyCompared as: value in the arm that got the peptide, in points | 7.3 points Score change · semaglutide 7 mg Dose studied: 7 mg daily52 weeksn not reported2021 | 3.3 points Score change Dose studied: 0.75 mg52 weeksn not reported2021 |
| Gastrointestinal adverse eventsGastrointestinalCompared as: value in the arm that got the peptide, in % | 41.8% Gastrointestinal adverse events Dose studied: 1.0 mg once weekly56 weeksn = 8132018 | 47.4% Gastrointestinal adverse events Placebo: 34.1% Dose studied: 1.5 mg weeklyMedian follow-up 5.4 yearsn = 9,9012019 |
| Adverse eventsWhole bodyCompared as: value in the arm that got the peptide, in % | 86.2% Adverse events · semaglutide 0.5 mg Dose studied: 0.5 mg56 weeksn = 6012018 | 82% Adverse events Dose studied: 0.75 mg weekly52 weeksn = 652020 |
1.8%
Incidence
Placebo: 2.2%
Dose studied: 2.4 mg once weeklyn = 17,6042024
7.6%
proportion with primary composite kidney outcome, dulaglutide · dulaglutide 1·5 mg, overall population
Dose studied: 1·5 mg weeklyn = 13,1652026
6.5%
primary end-point event rate
Placebo: 8%
Dose studied: 2.4 mg once weeklyn = 17,6042023
12%
Primary outcome
Placebo: 13.4%
Dose studied: 1.5 mg weeklyMedian follow-up 5.4 yearsn = 9,9012019
−9.1 kg
Total body weight change
Dose studied: 2.4 mg/wk24 weeksn = 1012026
−2.9 kg
Baseline-adjusted difference in weight change
Dose studied: 1.5 mg once weekly12 weeksn = 2552023
−1.6 to −0.4%
Estimated treatment difference
Dose studied: 2.5-40 mg once daily26 weeksn not reported2017
−1%
HbA1c change difference
Dose studied: 1.5 mg once weekly28 weeksn = 2912023
7.3 points
Score change · semaglutide 7 mg
Dose studied: 7 mg daily52 weeksn not reported2021
3.3 points
Score change
Dose studied: 0.75 mg52 weeksn not reported2021
41.8%
Gastrointestinal adverse events
Dose studied: 1.0 mg once weekly56 weeksn = 8132018
47.4%
Gastrointestinal adverse events
Placebo: 34.1%
Dose studied: 1.5 mg weeklyMedian follow-up 5.4 yearsn = 9,9012019
86.2%
Adverse events · semaglutide 0.5 mg
Dose studied: 0.5 mg56 weeksn = 6012018
82%
Adverse events
Dose studied: 0.75 mg weekly52 weeksn = 652020
The other peptides have no randomized result on the same measure, so these results cannot be set side by side.
| Outcome | Semaglutide | Dulaglutide (Trulicity) |
|---|---|---|
| Blood pressureCardiovascularCompared as: difference from placebo, in mm hg | −3.84 mm Hg SBP change at 13 weeks Dose studied: maximum 14 mg once dailyn = 9,6502026 | No comparable result 10 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit. |
| Inflammation markersImmune and inflammationCompared as: difference from placebo, in % | −18.08% hsCRP change at 13 weeks Dose studied: maximum 14 mg once dailyn = 9,6502026 | No comparable result 6 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit. |
| LipidsMetabolic and weightCompared as: difference from placebo, in % | −7% Total cholesterol change at 13 weeks Dose studied: maximum 14 mg once dailyn = 9,6502026 | No comparable result 20 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit. |
| Cardiometabolic risk factorsMetabolic and weightCompared as: value in the arm that got the peptide, in % | −61.1% Relative risk score change Placebo: −12.9% Dose studied: 2.4 mg68 weeksn = 1,5832023 | No comparable result 4 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit. |
| Liver fat and liver functionLiverCompared as: difference from placebo, in percentage points | 28.7 percentage points Estimated difference Dose studied: 2.4 mg once weekly72 weeks (interim analysis; planned 240 weeks)n = 8002025 | No comparable result 6 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit. |
−3.84 mm Hg
SBP change at 13 weeks
Dose studied: maximum 14 mg once dailyn = 9,6502026
No comparable result
10 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit.
−18.08%
hsCRP change at 13 weeks
Dose studied: maximum 14 mg once dailyn = 9,6502026
No comparable result
6 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit.
−7%
Total cholesterol change at 13 weeks
Dose studied: maximum 14 mg once dailyn = 9,6502026
No comparable result
20 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit.
−61.1%
Relative risk score change
Placebo: −12.9%
Dose studied: 2.4 mg68 weeksn = 1,5832023
No comparable result
4 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit.
28.7 percentage points
Estimated difference
Dose studied: 2.4 mg once weekly72 weeks (interim analysis; planned 240 weeks)n = 8002025
No comparable result
6 randomized-trial results measure it in another way or another unit.
Each analog against its native parent, residue by residue. Substitutions, non-standard residues and modifications are marked. Calculated from the two sequences.
Semaglutide differs from Glucagon-like peptide 1 (7-37) at 2 positions and carries 1 added group.
What is different
Dulaglutide (Trulicity) differs from Glucagon-like peptide 1 (7-37) at 246 positions.
What is different
Registered trials, ranked by phase (late phases first), then posted results and enrollment. Status is the registry status. Study results come from published studies. Results posted at ClinicalTrials.gov are shown on each trial page.
Top 3 of 663 trials, ranked by phase, then posted results and enrollment: 3 completed · 3 with posted results · source ClinicalTrials.gov (opens in a new tab)
Novo Nordisk A/S17,604 participants24 Oct 2018 to 29 Jun 2023
Overweight · Obesity
Novo Nordisk A/S9,651 participants17 Jun 2019 to 23 Aug 2024
Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2
Novo Nordisk A/S3,533 participants17 Jun 2019 to 9 Jan 2024
Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2
124 more mention it but do not test it. They only measure it or name it in their text.
Top 3 of 124 trials, ranked by phase, then posted results and enrollment: 3 completed · 3 with posted results · source ClinicalTrials.gov (opens in a new tab)
Eli Lilly and Company13,299 participants29 May 2020 to 12 Jun 2025
Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus
Eli Lilly and Company9,901 participants22 Jul 2011 to 21 Aug 2018
Cardiovascular Disease · Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2
Eli Lilly and Company1,842 participants5 Apr 2018 to 10 Oct 2019
Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2
19 more mention it but do not test it. They only measure it or name it in their text.
In PepBank now:147 peptides, 6 blends and 13 other compounds97,577 study results from 17,383 studies8,473 clinical trialsUpdated