Skip to content

Trial · Observational

CompletedPhase not statedRegistry data

Semaglutide Effects on Cardiovascular Outcomes in People With Overweight or Obesity in the Real World

Short name SCORE

NCTNCT06874751 (opens ClinicalTrials.gov in a new tab)Other idNN9536-8515Other idU1111-1318-9978

Overview

Status
Completed
Phase
Phase not stated
Enrollment
45,456 participants (actual)
Sponsor
Novo Nordisk A/S · Industry
Design
Not stated
Countries
1 country

United States

Start
6 Dec 2024
Primary completion
28 Mar 2025
Completion
28 Mar 2025
First posted
13 Mar 2025
Last update posted
21 May 2025
Conditions
Overweight · Obesity · Atherosclerotic Cardiovascular Disease (ASCVD)

Timeline

1 trial · 1 completed

  • Completed
  • Ongoing
  • Not yet recruiting
  • Stopped
  • Estimated dates (est.)
  • Results posted
202420252026
  1. Ph –

    SCORE

    NCT06874751

    6 Dec 2024 to 28 Mar 2025

Registry summary

Text and fields below are the sponsor's entries at ClinicalTrials.gov, shown as posted.

This is a retrospective database study which includes administrative medical and pharmacy claims linked with clinical and laboratory measurements for patients in the US, to evaluate the effectiveness of once-weekly semaglutide 2.4 mg in reducing the risk of CV and other obesity-related clinical outcomes.

Interventions

  • No treatment givenOther
  • No treatment givenOther

Arms2

  • Other

    Cohort: Semaglutide Users

    Participants age above or equal to (≥) 45 years with overweight or obesity and established ASCVD who initiated semaglutide 2.4 mg (semaglutide 2.4 mg users).

  • Other

    Cohort: Semaglutide Non-users

    Participants age above or equal to (≥) 45 years with overweight or obesity and established ASCVD who are semaglutide 2.4 mg non-users.

Primary outcomes2

Outcomes the sponsor listed as primary.

  1. Revised 5-Point Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events (MACE-5) (time-to-event)

    Time frame · Index date, earliest of revised MACE-5 and end of follow-up, up to 30 months

    Registry description

    Measured as months Occurrence of any of the following individual component events: 1. Myocardial Infarction (MI) 2. Stroke 3. Hospitalization for Heart Failure (HF) 4. Coronary revascularization 5. All-cause mortality The event date will be the earliest occurrence of one of the individual components.

  2. Revised 3-Point Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events (MACE-3) (time-to-event)

    Time frame · Index date, earliest of revised MACE-3 and end of follow-up, up to 30 months

    Registry description

    Measured as months Occurrence of any of the following individual component events: 1. MI 2. Stroke 3. All-cause mortality The event date will be the earliest occurrence of one of the individual components.

Secondary outcomes(8)
  1. MI (time-to-event)

    Time frame · Index date, earliest of MI and end of follow-up, up to 30 months

    Registry description

    Measured as months Participants who were diagnosed of MI (identified using International Classification of Disease, 10th Edition, Clinical Modification \[ICD-10-CM\] diagnosis codes) observed during an inpatient (IP) visit. The event date will be admission date of the IP visit.

  2. Stroke (time-to-event)

    Time frame · Index date, earliest of stroke and end of follow-up, up to 30 months

    Registry description

    Measured as months Participants who were diagnosed of stroke, including both ischemic and hemorrhagic, (identified using ICD-10- CM diagnosis codes) which was observed during an IP visit. The event date will be the admission date of the IP visit.

  3. Hospitalization for HF (time-to-event)

    Time frame · Index date, earliest of hospitalization for HF and end of follow up, up to 30 months

    Registry description

    Measured as months Participants who were diagnosed of HF (identified using ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes) observed during an IP visit. The event date will be the first observed admission date of the IP visit.

  4. Coronary revascularization (time-to-event)

    Time frame · Index date, earliest of hospitalization for Coronary revascularization and end of follow up, up to 30 months

    Registry description

    Measured as months Participants with evidence of coronary revascularization in any claim (identified using ICD-10-PCS, Current Procedural Terminology \[CPT\], or Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System \[HCPCS\] procedure codes). The event date will be the first observed date of coronary revascularization.

  5. All-cause mortality (time-to-event)

    Time frame · Index date, end of follow up, up to 30 months

    Registry description

    Measured as months Participants with evidence of death as recorded at the month and year level in KRD and defined as a death record observed within the last month of follow-up. The event date will be the earliest of the end of follow-up (e.g., bariatric surgery within the month of death and last month of follow-up) or the last day of the recorded month of death.

  6. MACE-5

    Time frame · Index date, earliest of MACE-5 and end of follow-up, up to 30 months

    Registry description

    Measured as months Occurrence of any of the following individual component events: 1. MI 2. Stroke 3. Hospitalization for HF 4. Coronary revascularization 5. CV-related mortality The event date will be the earliest occurrence of one of the individual components.

  7. MACE-3

    Time frame · Index date, earliest of MACE-3 and end of follow-up, up to 30 months

    Registry description

    Measured as months Occurrence of any of the following individual component events: 1. MI 2. Stroke 3. CV-related mortality The event date will be the earliest occurrence of one of the individual components.

  8. CV-related mortality (time-to-event)

    Time frame · Index date, earliest of MACE-3 and end of follow-up, up to 30 months

    Registry description

    Measured as months Partcipants with any claim within ≤30 days before the date of death (i.e., the last day of the recorded month of death, where death is observed in the last month of follow-up) of the following operational definition to indicate a CV-related mortality (identified using ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes): (1) A primary diagnosis of MI (2) A primary diagnosis of ischemic or hemorrhagic stroke (3) A primary diagnosis of HF (4) Evidence of peripheral arterial revascularization, coronary revascularization, CABG, PCI, or carotid intervention in any claim (identified using ICD-10-PCS, CPT, or HCPCS procedure codes). (5) A primary diagnosis of CV hemorrhage (excluding hemorrhagic stroke) (6) A primary diagnosis of other CV conditions including unstable angina, sudden cardiac arrest, cardiogenic shock, and other cerebrovascular and CV events. The event date will be the earliest of the end of follow-up (e.g., bariatric surgery within the month of death) or the date of death.

Posted results

Values are shown as posted at ClinicalTrials.gov, with their units. PepBank has not converted, pooled or compared them.

No results are posted for this trial.

Completed trials do not always post results.

Registry data comes from ClinicalTrials.gov. Study results come from studies, not from the registry. How PepBank works

Studies1

Studies that cite this trial.

Studies with results

1 study on this page

Indexing hint: Observational study · 2025

10 results

Lower risk of cardiovascular events in patients initiated on semaglutide 2.4 mg in the real-world: Results from the SCORE study (Semaglutide Effects on Cardiovascular Outcomes in People with Overweight or Obesity in the Real World).

Smolderen et al. 2025Diabetes, obesity & metabolismcited by 9

PMID 40926360PMC12515752DOI 10.1111/dom.70080PUB-40926360

Free to read · publisher termsCC BY-NC10 results

Eligibility

Who could join, as posted.

Sex
All
Age
from 45 Years
Healthy volunteers
Not stated
Inclusion and exclusion criteria, as posted
Inclusion Criteria: 1. Participants with overweight or obesity defined as at least one overweight/obesity indication of a specified body mass index (BMI) above or equal to (≥) 27.0 kilogram per meter square (kg/m\^2) and undefined obesity/overweight indications, defined by diagnoses and laboratory values 2. Participants with established ASCVD defined as a diagnosis of MI, diagnosis of ischemic stroke, and/or evidence of peripheral arterial disease 3. Participants who are above or equal to (≥) 45 years old by the end of data availability 4. Participants who initiated semaglutide 2.4 mg on or after the eligibility date and June4, 2021 (semaglutide 2.4 mg users) or participants with no evidence of semaglutide 2.4 mg usage (non-users) during January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2023 5. Participant with continuous insurance enrolment eligibility above or equal to (≥)12 months prior to the index date 6. Participants with re-confirmed overweight/obesity indication during the baseline period Exclusion criteria: 1. Participants with a diagnosis of chronic or acute pancreatitis 2. Participants with a diagnosis of multiple endocrine neoplasia type 2 or medullary thyroid carcinoma 3. Participants with end-stage kidney disease (ESKD) including chronic or intermittent hemodialysis or peritoneal dialysis, kidney transplant, and/or record of estimate glomerular filtration rate less than (\<) 15 milliliter per minute per 1.73\*meter square (mL/min/1.73m\^2) 4. Pregnancy in female participants 5. Participants with evidence of diabetes including more or equal to (≥)2 diagnoses of type 1 diabetes or more or equal to ( ≥) 2 diagnoses of type 2 diabetes on distinct dates, use of a glucose-lowering agent, and/or glycated hemoglobin (HbA1c) laboratory result above or equal to 6.5 percent (%) 6. Use of a glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) or GLP-1/gastric inhibitory polypeptide (GIP) receptor ago-nist approved for weight management (excluding semaglutide 2.4 mg) 7. Participants with evidence of bariatric surgery

PepBank is a research reference. Talk to a doctor before you use any peptide.