Skip to content

Trial · Observational

CompletedPhase not statedRegistry data

Emulation of the SUSTAIN6 Diabetes Trial Using Healthcare Claims

NCTNCT06659744 (opens ClinicalTrials.gov in a new tab)Other id2018P002966-DUP-SUSTAIN

Overview

Status
Completed
Phase
Phase not stated
Enrollment
158,310 participants (actual)
Sponsor
Brigham and Women's Hospital · Other
Design
Not stated
Countries
1 country

United States

Start
24 Oct 2024
Primary completion
6 Mar 2025
Completion
6 Mar 2025
First posted
26 Oct 2024
Last update posted
15 Oct 2025
Conditions
Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2

Timeline

1 trial · 1 completed

  • Completed
  • Ongoing
  • Not yet recruiting
  • Stopped
  • Estimated dates (est.)
  • Results posted
202420252026
  1. Ph –

    Emulation of the SUSTAIN6 Diabetes Trial Using Healthcare Claims

    NCT06659744

    24 Oct 2024 to 6 Mar 2025

Registry summary

Text and fields below are the sponsor's entries at ClinicalTrials.gov, shown as posted.

Investigators are building an empirical evidence base for real world data through large-scale emulation of randomized controlled trials. The investigators' goal is to understand for what types of clinical questions real world data analyses can be conducted with confidence and how to implement such studies.

Interventions

  • New use of semaglutide injectionDrug
  • New initiation of sitagliptinDrug

Arms2

  • Other

    New use of semaglutide injection

    Exposure group

  • Other

    New initiation of sitagliptin

    Reference group

Primary outcomes1

Outcomes the sponsor listed as primary.

  1. Major adverse cardiac event (MACE), including myocardial infarction, stroke, and all cause death

    Time frame · Through study completion (1 day after cohort entry date until the first of outcome or censoring)

    Registry description

    Hazard ratio

Posted results

Values are shown as posted at ClinicalTrials.gov, with their units. PepBank has not converted, pooled or compared them.

No results are posted for this trial.

Completed trials do not always post results.

Registry data comes from ClinicalTrials.gov. Study results come from studies, not from the registry. How PepBank works

Studies1

Studies that cite this trial.

Studies with results

1 study on this page

PubMed tag: none · 2026

5 results

Cardiovascular outcomes of semaglutide and tirzepatide for patients with type 2 diabetes in clinical practice.

Krüger et al. 2026Nature medicinecited by 31

PMID 41207920PMC12823426DOI 10.1038/s41591-025-04102-xPUB-41207920

CC BY5 results

Eligibility

Who could join, as posted.

Sex
All
Age
from 50 Years
Healthy volunteers
Not stated
Inclusion and exclusion criteria, as posted
Eligible cohort entry dates: Market availability of injectable semaglutide in the US began on 5th December 2017. Optum: Study period between 5th Dec 2017 - 29th February 2024 Marketscan: Study period between 5th Dec 2017 - 31st Dec 2022 Medicare: Study period between 5th Dec 2017 - 31st Dec 2020 Inclusion Criteria: * Type 2 diabetes mellitus * Anti-diabetic drug naïve, or treated with one or two oral antidiabetic drug (OADs), or treated with human Neutral Protamin Hagedorn (NPH) insulin or long-acting insulin analogue or pre-mixed insulin, both types of insulin either alone or in combination with one or two OADs * Age above or equal to 50 years at screening and clinical evidence of cardiovascular disease: prior myocardial infarction, prior stroke or prior transient ischemic attack, prior coronary, carotid or peripheral arterial revascularization, more than 50% stenosis on angiography or imaging of coronary, carotid or lower extremities arteries, chronic heart failure - New York Heart Association (NYHA) class II-III, chronic renal impairment documents by estimated eGFR \<60ml/min/1.73 m2 per MDRD * Age 60 years or older with subclinical evidence of cardiovascular disease. Subclinical cardiovascular risk factors as one of the following: persistent microalbuminuria (30-299mg/g) or proteinuria, ankle/brachial index less than 0.9 Exclusion Criteria: * Type 1 diabetes mellitus, secondary or gestational diabetes * Use of glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) receptor agonist (exenatide, liraglutide, or other) or pramlintide within 90 days prior to screening * Use of any dipeptidyl peptidase 4 (DPP-IV) inhibitor within 30 days prior to screening * Treatment with insulin other than basal and pre-mixed insulin within 90 days prior to screening - except for short-term use in connection with intercurrent illness * Acute decompensation of glycaemic control requiring immediate intensification of treatment to prevent acute complications of diabetes (eg diabetes ketoacidosis) within 90 days prior to screening * History of chronic pancreatitis or idiopathic acute pancreatitis * Acute coronary or cerebro-vascular event within 90 days prior to randomization * Chronic heart failure New York Heart Association (NYHA) class IV * Personal or family history of multiple endocrine neoplasia type 2 (MEN2) or familial medullary thyroid carcinoma * Personal history of non-familial medullary thyroid carcinoma * Chronic hemodialysis or peritoneal dialysis * End stage liver disease * A prior solid organ transplant or awaiting solid organ transplant * Diagnosis of malignant neoplasm in the previous 5 years * Female of childbearing potential who is pregnant, breast-feeding or intends to become pregnant or is not using an adequate contraceptive method * Known use of non-prescribed narcotics or illicit drugs * Proliferative retinopathy or maculopathy requiring treatment * Missing age or gender * Nursing home admission

PepBank is a research reference. Talk to a doctor before you use any peptide.