In fasting women, rhIGF-I increased osteocalcin, with significantly higher levels than placebo at treatment end.
In plain wordsIn fasting women, rhIGF-I increased osteocalcin, with higher levels than placebo at treatment end.
- Peptide
- IGF-1 (mecasermin)
- Outcome
- IncreaseOsteocalcin
- Study
n = 14
- Comparator
- Placebo
- Outcome group
- Bone and joint · Musculoskeletal
- Studied dose
- Dose not stated · subcutaneous twice daily · 6 dAs given in this study (human).
Measurements
- Osteocalcin fold increase with rhIGF-I
- 5 fold
- rhIGF-I administration
- Serum osteocalcin
- 20.9 ng/ml
- rhIGF-I group, end of treatment
- Serum osteocalcin
- 5.9 ng/ml
- placebo group, end of treatment
- Serum osteocalcin +/- uncertainty magnitude (type not stated)
- 17.3 ng/ml
- rhIGF-I group, end of treatment, 20.9 +/- 17.3
- Serum osteocalcin +/- uncertainty magnitude (type not stated)
- 6.4 ng/ml
- Placebo group, end of treatment, 5.9 +/- 6.4
- P value for serum osteocalcin comparison
- < 0.05 p value
- rhIGF-I versus placebo, end of treatment
Source sentences
In the second part of the experimental protocol, serum osteocalcin and PICP levels increased 5- and 3-fold, respectively with rhIGF-I administration and were significantly elevated compared with the placebo group at the end of treatment (20.9 +/- 17.3 vs. 5.9 +/- 6.4 ng/ml for osteocalcin [P < 0.05]…
2 context sentences(design, population, supporting numbers)
We therefore studied 14 normal women ages 19-33 (mean, 24 +/- 4 [SD] years) during a complete 10-d fast.
After 4 d of fasting, subjects were randomized to receive rhIGF-I or placebo subcutaneously twice a day for 6 d.